What Is the SIPES Foundation?

The SIPES Foundation was established in 1981 to perform the charitable, educational and scientific purposes of the Society of Independent Professional Earth Scientists. The SIPES Foundation has carried out these activities through many programs including seminars, an earth science film library, publications for the National Park Service, and annual scholarship awards.


The SIPES Foundation has awarded scholarships to more than 200 outstanding earth science and engineering students since 1981. Applications are accepted annually from upper division or graduate students majoring in any field of earth science or engineering who have an overall grade point average of 3.5 or higher and are U.S. Citizens. Application forms are available online after March 1.


The SIPES Foundation sponsors a seminar during the SIPES Annual Meeting. The 2017 Seminar will be held at the Four Seasons Resort in Vail, Colorado on Monday, June 26 from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. The course will be presented by Bill Nye, a drilling fluids engineer with worldwide experience. His talk is entitled "Tales from Seven Continents - Living an Explorer's Dream."

Film Library

The SIPES Foundation Earth Science Film Library is an excellent scientific and educational resource that contains over 250 films of seminars, SIPES Annual Meeting technical presentations and other earth science topics. These films are available for online viewing to current SIPES Members with a user account.


Donations are welcomed by the SIPES Foundation to continue education programs, seminars, film projects and scholarship awards. Your gift may be made in honor of or in memory of a family member, friend or business colleague. All gifts receive written acknowledgment. If you wish to make a contribution online, please click here.